Can you trust after being betrayed?

Leave a comment

August 25, 2016 by breanneeck

New post for Muddled Millennial!

Have you been there? Cheated on. Lied to. Betrayed. Whether it was your man sleeping around or your best friend messing with your ex, how do you cope? Does it ever get better? Will you ever trust again? When it happens to you it feels like they took a piece of you that you can never get back. While that may be true, it does get better.

Have enough courage to trust love one more time and always one more time.

Maya Angelo

There are so many different forms of betrayal and they all will affect you differently. When I was younger and dating my “first love” I thought he was the person I was going to marry. Didn’t we all? Well, it didn’t work out and after we broke up I found out he was cheating on me the entire relationship. Ouch. I thought I would never get it over and that I would never trust anyone again.

The best way to find out if you can trust somebody is to trust them.

Ernest Hemingway

When I got older I had a friend that ended up sleeping with someone I was sort of dating. At the time it bothered me but I was not willing to end a friendship over it because I knew me and this guy were not going to end up together. Then as the months went by, I wondered to myself why I was still friends with someone like this? Just because I didn’t want to progress my relationship with this guy does not mean it’s ok for my friend to sleep with him.

Trust is like a mirror, you can fix it if it’s broken, but you can still see the crack in that mother fucker’s reflection.

Lady Gaga

There’s one thing that we all learn after things like this happen. It sucks, but we do move on. We learn that not everyone will hurt you, not all your “friends” will sleep with your man, not all your boyfriends are going to cheat on you and not everyone is going to lie to you. We learn to filter through the garbage in our lives and hold the treasures dearly.

Everyone suffers at least one bad betrayal in their lifetime. It’s what unites us. The trick is not to let it destroy your trust in others when that happens. Don’t let them take that from you.

Sherrilyn Kenyon, Invincible (Chronicles of Nick, #2)

While we can basically all sit here and say “I’ve been burned” most of us can also say “I’ve lit the match.” I know they say that if you really loved someone you wouldn’t hurt them, but I’m sorry, things happen. There are going to be times where you let someone down or maybe don’t exactly live up to the expectations they had for you. There’s also a lesson to be learned here. You know what it feels like, you know how that lie or that “one night” crushed you, why hurt someone you care about? Trust is a two way street just like betrayal is, and let me tell you… Neither side feels good. But you do recover. You learn from your mistakes, you learn from the lies you’re told and most importantly you learn from experience.

The past can’t hurt you anymore, not unless you let it.

Alan Moore, V for Vendetta

There are so many good people out there and there are so many relationships, whether they be intimate or friendly, worth taking a chance on. Listen to your intuition and trust your gut. While you may never get over that incident of betrayal, you will be able to feel that love and that trust in someone new.

We are products of our past, but we don’t have to be prisoners of it.

Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here for?

All quotes found on GoodReads

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

