“Hate me if you want to, Love me if you can”

1

August 26, 2016 by breanneeck

Just recently I was in the car with my brother-in-law. He decided he wanted to play a “game” – the object was to pick a song that means something to you, explain why and then play the song for the other person. It’s really a great way to learn things about someone, even someone you thought you already knew pretty well. I decided to do a section here about some of my favorites and what they mean to me.

I’m a huge fan of Country music, mostly because I can find a message in each of the songs I love. This song by Toby Keith happens to be one of my very favorites because I just LOVE the message it delivers.

Not everyone is going to love you, not everyone is going to like you and you’re absolutely going to find people that just flat out hate you. And that’s ok. We end up finding the people that give us their hearts, and we have the ability to walk away from those that don’t.

I’m a man of my convictions

Call me wrong, call me right

But I bring my better angels to every fight

The most important thing to know is always stay true to yourself. Don’t ever let someone else’s opinion or reactions allow you to stray away from who you are and what you believe in. 


You may not like where I’m goin’

But you sure know where I stand

Hate me if you want to

Love me if you can

The other great thing about this song, is that it points out there’s always a grey area; not everything is always going to be black and white. You may believe in something whole heartily but there’s always going to be that “exception” or that one situation that makes it less than 100%.

Sometimes I think war is necessary

Every night I pray for peace on Earth

And I hand down my dollars to the homeless

But believe that every able soul should work

It truly is a great song and if you haven’t heard it already, you should.

Watch Video Here

I also suggest you play this game with your family and friends. You’ll be surprised how close you feel to them after.

*Lyrics taken from AZLyrics

One thought on ““Hate me if you want to, Love me if you can”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great song !

    Like

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

