What I want my niece and nephew to know

1

September 7, 2016 by breanneeck

Being an Aunt is, hands down, one of the BEST things that could have ever happened to me. I have these two tiny humans that love me unconditionally and smile when I make silly faces. I have a 3 and a half year old that gets sooooo excited to talk to me on the phone just to ask me what I’m doing 15 times and a little boy whose smile can brighten up even the worst of days. They have brought so much joy to my life that I can only hope I come close to returning half as much to theirs.


As they get older I hope they start to understand just what they mean to me. I hope they know that just seeing their faces or hearing their giggles have made my days better. I hope they know that watching them grow up is something that I will cherish forever. I hope they completely understand just how much they mean to me.

I hope they grow to learn that they can tell me anything. I hope they know that I would never judge them and that I will always support them. I hope that they consider me “cool aunt Breanne” because I’m sure they’ll have their first beer with me! (Sorry Codie and Jimmy). And I hope they call me at midnight when they are afraid to wake their parents because they know I’ll come get them.


I hope they learn compassion and understanding. I hope they know that kindness goes a long way. I hope that they never turn their backs on their family. I hope they find value in small circles and don’t worry about being “popular.”


I hope that when I talk they actually listen. I hope my opinion is one that they will value. I hope they can see the love in my eyes every time they tell me a story. I hope that when they graduate and start their lives they take my advice. I hope to tell them my mistakes and know they learned something from them.


I hope that they can always see the joy in my eyes when I’m looking at them. I hope that when i have kids one day they will be best friends like I am with their mom. I hope that they never forget how important they are to me. I hope that I can teach them important values. I hope that they cherish me like I do them.


Most of all I simply just hope that they know my love is one of kind. That I would do anything for them. That I will do my best to bring as many smiles to their lives as they have to mine. I hope they know just how much I love them.

Love,

“Aunt Be-Anne”

One thought on “What I want my niece and nephew to know

  1. Anonymous says:

    You are the Best Aunt !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

