New year, more happiness

Leave a comment

January 20, 2017 by breanneeck

New year, new me … right? Not this year. This year I plan on just being a better version of who I already am.

This year I decided that my goal is not to lose weight or stop being an asshole. My goal is to one-by-one incorporate an all around better way of life. To get started I bought a journal and promised myself to make at least one entry a week. I also keep track of what I want to accomplish this year and how I plan to do it.

Instead of telling myself that I want to lose 20 pounds, I decided instead to drink more water and incorporate better foods into my diet. I’ve been eating more yogurt, drinking more lemon water and snacking less during my work day. (Don’t get me wrong, I still eat pasta and fried foods, I just want to add healthier foods into my diet little by little.) One thing that I’ve learned is being healthy is very different than being skinny. It’s all about how you feel and a little less about the number on the scale.

Another thing I would like to do more is donate to local shelters and/or food kitchens. I’m not just talking about dropping off canned goods, I’m talking about helping out. Donating time can be so much more valuable than donating money. I truly believe that it’s good for your soul; helping people.

These are just two ideas out of many that I have. Some others include dropping a bad habbit, picking up a hobby, practicing Hygge, turning off social media and sort of “cleansing” myself for a while. So how do I plan on doing this? I’ll tell you.

 

12 Goals in 12 Months

That’s right, another check list! I’ve picked 12 things I want this year to be about and one month at a time I plan on tackling this. January was the start of my journal as well as the start of my 2017 reading challenge. I’ve been jotting every thing down and preparing for the year. (Meanwhile, we are 3 weeks in and 50% of people have already quit on the resolution. That is not a fact, just something I stumbled across on the internet. And we all know, we can’t believe everything we read!)

Anyway, I challenged myself to be a better person, physically and mentally, in the year 2017. That includes gradually getting to a healthier diet, incorporating more physical activities into my weeks and creating healthier relationships with the people in my life.

“Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” 
 Mahatma Gandhi

2016 taught me a lot of valuable lessons, and not all good ones. The most important thing I think I learned is that your life is what you make of it. Your attitude determines your happiness and if you’re not happy, only you cchangean change it. I changed jobs three times last year. I know that’s a lot and people don’t normally jump around like that, but I wasn’t happy and the only way to fix that is to change it. I couldn’t stay there and expect my boss to change, the job responsibilities to change or the overall atmosphere to change. I had to change it. But that’s an entirely different story for a different day. The bottom line is, you need to make yourself happy. If that means changing things one by one then so be it. That’s what I plan on doing, one by one eliminating the negative and adding the positive.

“Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.”
Dalai Lama XIV

So here’s to 2017 being better than 2016. Here’s to weaning out the negativity and welcoming the positive. Here’s to change. Here’s to hope. Here’s to happiness!

 

*Quotes taken from Goodreads, feature image taken from Saying Images, and Change image taken from Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

